Meet the Candidates Running for 2025 IEEE President-Elect

All three have served in IEEE leadership positions

3 min read

Joanna Goodrich is the associate editor of The Institute

A photo of a woman and two men.

The candidates running for 2025 IEEE President-Elect are IEEE Fellows Mary Ellen Randall, John Verboncoeur, and S.K. Ramesh.

Photos: Fran Graley Photography; Christopher Cote from Edward Fox Photography; S K Ramesh

The IEEE Board of Directors has nominated IEEE Fellows Mary Ellen Randall, John Verboncoeur, and S.K. Ramesh as candidates for 2025 IEEE president-elect.

The winner of this year’s election will serve as IEEE president in 2026. For more information about the election, president-elect candidates, and petition process, visit the IEEE election website.

A photo of a smiling woman Fran Graley Photography

IEEE Fellow Mary Ellen Randall

Nominated by the IEEE Board of Directors

Randall founded Ascot Technologies in 2000 in Cary, N.C. Ascot develops enterprise applications using mobile data delivery technologies. She serves as the award-winning company’s CEO.

Before launching Ascot, she worked for IBM, where she held several technical and managerial positions in hardware and software development, digital video chips, and test design automation. She routinely managed international projects.

Randall has served as IEEE treasurer, director of IEEE Region 3, chair of IEEE Women in Engineering, and vice president of IEEE Member and Geographic Activities.

In 2016 she created the IEEE MOVE (Mobile Outreach VEhicle) program to assist with disaster relief efforts and for science, technology, engineering, and math educational purposes.

The IEEE Eta Kappa Nu honor society member has received several honors including the 2020 IEEE Haraden Pratt Award, which recognizes outstanding volunteer service to IEEE.

She was named a top businesswoman in North Carolina’s Research Triangle Park area, and she made the 2003 Business Leader Impact 100 list.

A photo of a smiling manChristopher Cote from Edward Fox Photography

IEEE Fellow John Verboncoeur

Nominated by the IEEE Board of Directors

Verboncoeur is senior associate dean for research and graduate studies in Michigan State University’s (MSU) engineering college, in East Lansing.

In 2001 he founded the computational engineering science program at the University of California, Berkeley, chairing it until 2010.

In 2015 he cofounded the MSU computational mathematics, science, and engineering department.

His area of interest is plasma physics, with over 500 publications and over 6,500 citations.

He is on the boards of Physics of Plasmas and the American Center for Mobility, and the U.S. Department of Energy Fusion Energy Science Advisory Committee.

Verboncoeur has led startups developing digital exercise and health systems and the consumer credit report. He also had a role in developing the U.S. Postal Service’s mail-forwarding system.

His IEEE experience includes 2023 vice-president of Technical Activities, 2020 acting vice-president of Publication Services and Products Board, 2019-2020 Division IV director, and 2015-2016 president of the Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society.

He received a Ph.D. in 1992 in nuclear engineering from UC Berkeley.

A photo of a smiling man.S K Ramesh

IEEE Fellow S.K. Ramesh

Nominated by the IEEE Board of Directors

Ramesh is a professor of electrical and computer engineering at California State University Northridge’s college of engineering and computer science, where he served as dean from 2006 to 2017.

An IEEE volunteer for 42 years, he has served on the IEEE Board of Directors, the Publication Services and Products Board, Awards Board, and the Fellows Committee. Leadership positions he has held include vice president of IEEE Educational Activities, president of the IEEE Eta Kappa Nu honor society, and chair of the IEEE Hearing Board.

As the 2016–2017 vice president of IEEE Educational Activities, he championed several successful programs including the IEEE Learning Network and the IEEE TryEngineering Summer Institute.

Ramesh served as the 2022–2023 president of ABET, the global accrediting organization for academic programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology.

He received his bachelor’s degree in electronics and communication engineering from the University of Madras in India. He earned his master’s degree in EE and Ph.D. in molecular science from Southern Illinois University, in Carbondale.

This article has been updated from an earlier version.

This article appears in the March 2024 print issue as “Meet the Candidates Running for President-Elect .”

The Conversation (0)